Our Vision

To be the execellent Government Institution that helps the life of the community in a beneficial way to the Society

Our Mission

To provided a service in the line with the Government policies uplift the life styles on the society through a planned efficient development process consisting of proper and participation of the people

History of Verugal Divisional Secretariat

Verugal Divisional Secretariat is located in the south part of the Trincomalee District and bounded north by Seruwila. south by koralaipattu north, west by pollanaruwa and east by bay of bangal. This division comprises a total area 100.34 sq.km and division in to 10 Grama Niladhari Division.

Verugal division was functioning as one Grama Sevaka division under Koddiyarpaththu AGA Division during the British period. When the Seruwila AGA Division was constituted the Verugal Division also became as a part of this Division, in 1983 it was amalgamated as a sub division under Seruwila AGA Division. This was transferred as a separate division under the Verugal AGA Divisioning terms of the gazette notification 10 - 265 no 1988.09.27 dated and functioned as eleventh administrative division in Trincomalee District. There were only four GS division at that time namely Eachchilampattu, Verugal, Poonagar, Elangaithurai and later another five GS divisions namely Verugalmugathuwaram, Anaithivu, Karukkamunai, Poomaraththadichchenai, Elangaithuraimugathuwaram were attached to verugal, Eachchilampattu AGA division. This division was upgrade on 2009 January 30th as Divisional Secretary's Division. (Gazette Notification No 1586/30).

Verugal is one of the Rural Division which is predominantly agriculture area and the fishing is also one of the livelihoods. it has been analyzed and recorded in the historical notes that division is one of the oldest and the best division with fertile soil, ancient tanks which are very necessary for cultivation, so the main economic activities are agricultural and agricultural based industries.

The people of this area had been displaced after disturbance that took place in the eastern province and thereby cultivation of lands, cattle breeding and similar development projects came to a stands still.

There are 20 Villages covered by 10 Grama Niladharies' divisions which are enclosed in the charts and sketches.

Role performed at DS

Name Image From To
Mr.A.Singarayar (AGA) ava 1990 2002
Mr.A.Nadarajah (AGA) ava 2003 2004
Mr.A.Umamaheswaran (AGA) uma 2004 2008
Mr.P.Thaneswaran (DS) WhatsApp Image 2021 01 20 at 11.36.56 AM 2008.08.25  2012.01.18
Mr.M.Thayaparan (DS) WhatsApp Image 2021 01 20 at 11.25.20 AM  2012.01.19  2018.07.31
Mr.K.Kunanathan (DS) ds  2018.08.01  2021.07.28
Mr.M.H.M.Kani (DS) DS Hani Sir  2021.07.28  Up to now

News & Events

Scroll To Top